Enter your destination
Call Our Travel Experts
Call Our Travel Experts

Asia & Rest of the world


Kalindikhal Pass Trek

Popularly known as the most challenging trek of Garhwal Himalayas, Kalindikhal Pass Trek covers a total distance of 99 km. This trek is considered the toughest and most adventurous of all Uttarakhand trek. Starting from Gangotri, this tough trek ends at Badrinath Valley. The trek is not suitable for beginners. One needs to have some experience in mountaineering for this trek.

Taking you to altitudes of around 6000 meter, the trek covers small and beautiful natural lakes, valleys, snowfields and rough glaciers. The trek is given much importance as it covers holy shrines like Gangotri and Badrinath.

The trek is perfect for adventure lovers as they get to enjoy everything adventurous and thrilling. Also, as Kalindikhal pass (5968 M) is one of the toughest of all treks, which makes it an experience of a lifetime.

Trek Itinerary

Day 01: Delhi – Rishikesh (230 km / 6 - 7 hours drive)

On your arrival at Delhi, meet our tour representative and get transferred to Rishikesh, which takes 6 – 7 hours to complete 230 km. Night stay is scheduled at Rishikesh.

Day 02: Rishikesh - Uttarkashi (148 km)

On the second day of your Kalindhikal Pass Trek tour, from Rishikesh you drive to Uttarkashi covering around 148 km. Overnight stay at Uttarkashi.

Day 03: Uttarkashi – Innerline permit

Today, get the inner line permit. Night stay at Uttarkashi.

Day 04: Uttarkashi - Gangotri (3050m / 101 km / 5 hours)

On the fourth day, from Uttarkashi travel to Gangotri (3050 m). It takes approximately 5 hours to compete 101 km. Home stay at Gangotri.

Day 05: Gangotri

Today, settle down and relax at Gangotri. Overnight stay at Gangotri.

Day 06: Gangotri - Bhujbasa (3658m / 14 km trek / 5 hours)

On the sixth day, you start your trek tour from Gangotri to Bhujbasa (3658 m) covering 14 km in 5 hours. Home stay at Bhujbasa.

Day 07: Bhujbasa - Gaumukh (3900m) - Tapovan (4,463m) (12 km trek / 4 – 5 hours)

Today, from Bhujbasa, continue your trek to Gaumukh (3900 m) and further, from Gaurikund indulge in a trek to Tapovan (4463 m). Overall, it takes 4 to 5 hours to complete 12 km trek. Night stay is scheduled at Tapovan.

Day 08: Trek Tapovan - Nandan Van (4500m / 10 km)

On the eighth day of your Kalindhikal Pass trek tour, indulge in a 10 km trek from Tapovan to Nandan Van (4500 m). Overnight stay at Nanda Van.

Day 09: Nandanvan -Vasukital     

Today, from Nanda Van continue your trek to Vasukital. Home stay at Vasukital.                        

Day 10: Vasukital - Khara Pathar (5456m / trek 4 - 5 hours)     

On the tenth day, continue your trek from Vasukital to Khara Pathar (5456 m). It is a 4 to 5 hours trek. Night stay at Khara Pathar.         

Day 11: Khara Pathar - Kalindikhal Base                               

On day eleventh, from Khara Pathar you trek to Kalindikhal base. Enjoy the serenity and natural beauty of this exotic location. Overnight stay at Kalindikhal base-camp.

Day 12: Kalindikhal Base - Kalindi pass (5947m) - Rajparav (trek 5 - 6 hours)

Again start your trek from Kalindikhal base to Kalindi Pass (5947 m). On reaching Kalindi Pass, continue your trek to Rajparav. Total, it takes around 5 to 6 hours to complete the entire trek. Night stay at Rajparav.

Day 13: Rajparav – Arwatal (6 hours trek)   

On the thirteenth day of your Kalindikhal trek tour, you proceed for 6 hours trek from Rajparav to Arwatal. Home stay at Arwatal.

Day 14: Arwatal – Ghastoli (trek 6 - 7 hours)   

Today, you indulge in 6 to 7 hours trek from Arwatal to Ghastoli. Overnight stay at Ghastoli.                   

Day 15: Ghastoli - Mana (4 hours trek) - Badrinath (3133m) (by road)

Continue your trek from Ghastoli to Mana, which takes 4 hours to complete. As soon as you reach Mana, straight away drive to Badrinath (3133 m). Home stay at Badrinath.

Day 16: Badrinath - Joshimath (Visit Auli)

From Badrinath you travel to Joshimath. Sixteenth day is set out to explore Auli. Night stay at Auli.

Day 17: Joshimath – Rishikesh

Today, from Joshimath get transferred to Joshimath. Overnight stay at Rishikesh.                              

Day 18: Rishikesh - Delhi

On the eighteenth and last day of your Kalindhikal trek, from Rishikesh drive to Delhi for your onward journey.

Trek Info

  • Duration : 18 days / 17 nights
  • Altitude : 5946 m/19500 ft.
  • Level :Tough
  • Season : Mid June - July & August
  • Rail Head : Rishikesh is the nearest rail head
  • Road Head :Uttarkashi is the nearest town