India Standard Time:
Call Our Travel Experts
Call Our Travel Experts

Asia & Rest of the world


Nagarhole Conservation History

Nagarhole National Park was set up in 1955. In the year 1975, its area was enlarged to include a greater expanse of forest reserve. Nagarhole is a national park which houses a wide variety of flora and fauna. The forest has large elephant and bison inhabitants. It also hosts a variety of animal species along with approximately 250 species of birds. The park has been recently renamed as Rajiv Gandhi National Park after the late Prime Minister of India.

The Nagarhole National Park maintains conservation of animals like the four-horned antelope, sloth bear, jungle cat, civet, spotted deer, elephant, wild dog, flying fox, tiger, panther, gaur (Indian bison), sambhar, wild boar, black-naped hare, bonnet macaque, and pangolin. Cobras, crocodiles, kraits, pythons, vipers, and several species of lizards are also found here. It has also a large population of elephants and bysons.

Watching birds is okay, however, killing is not at this National Park. Among the 250 bird species found in Nagarhole National Park, the prominent ones are the common babbler, bee-eater, bulbul, dove, crested serpent, hornbill, Malabar pied, alexandrine, peacock, woodpecker, warbler, great Indian reed, eagle, crested hawk, golden-back parakeet, and the southern tree pie. Wild animals here can be spotted in large numbers near sources of water.