Tourist Visa on Arrival in India goes Online

Citizens of 43 countries will benefit as India updates ‘Tourist Visa on Arrival’ (TVoA) with ‘ETA (Electronic Travel Authority)’ scheme.

In a much awaited move, the government of India has made available the ETA scheme for tourist visa on arrival in India which will enable the citizens of 43 countries to apply for India tourist visa online from their own country. The new visa rule which will enable tourists from countries like the USA, Australia, Brazil, Germany and Japan to apply online for and to get tourist visas on arrival in India, is aimed to boost the fast growing tourism sector in India which contributes significantly to country’s GDP.

Now Apply Online for Indian Tourist Visa on Arrival in India

Now apply online and get tourist visa on arrival in India with new ETA scheme

Tourists Visa on Arrival in India has been replaced with the Electronic Travel Authorization (Scheme) for 43 countries (W.e.f November 27 2014). This scheme was introduced by Shree Rajnath Singh (Union Home Minister) and Dr. Mahesh Sharma (Minister of state (Independent Charge) for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation). Entries for the travelers is available in nine airports of India; Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Mumbai, Kochi, Goa, Bengaluru, Hyderabad and Thiruvananthapuram. However, the procedure of bio-metric records remains mandatory and will be captured on arrival.

Earlier the travelers had to apply at least two months prior to their date of arrival; but now travelers may do so even thirty to five days before their arrival. This is a much simpler procedure, as now not only will you be able to pay the visa fee online, you will also get the Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) within 72 hours of application, in your email id.

How do I know if I could apply for ETA scheme for tourist visa on arrival (the countries whose residents could apply online for TVoA).

This system is being implied in phases and currently 43 countries have been given the benefit. Out of these 43, 12 countries were the holder of Visa on Arrival already. The final eligible countries are: Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook islands, Djibouti, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue Island, Norway, Singapore, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vanuatu and Vietnam.

How much is the fee in USD for tourist visa on arrival in India

The Visa will cost $60. Please note that the fee is non-refundable and has to be paid at least four days prior to the date of travel.

For how long is the tourist visa on arrival in India valid

This visa is valid for 30 days from the date of approval. The validity cannot be extended or converted. However, you can apply for this visa twice in one year.

Where can I get the help for online visa application

You can send an email in or give a call +91-11-24300666, if you are seeking assistance for the same.

For information and application of the Visa on Arrival you can visit the official website:

What is the eligibility criteria for tourist visa on arrival in India

You are eligible to apply for Tourist Visa on Arrival if:

  • You are a foreign traveler wanting to visit India for recreation, sight-seeing, meeting friends or relatives, medical treatment (short duration) or casual business visit.
  • Your passport has at least six months validity
  • You have your return or onward ticket journey confirmed
  • You have sufficient funds for a comfortable stay in India

You are not eligible for Tourist Visa on Arrival if:

  • You have a Pakistani Passport or Pakistani Origin (In this case, you must apply for regular visa at Indian Mission)
  • You hold a diplomatic or official Passport.

How to get tourist visa on arrival in India online if I am a US Citizen (or for that matter citizen of any of the above listed 43 countries)

Application for Tourist Visa on Arrival must be done between thirty to five days before your travel date. The procedure for the same is:

  • Apply Online in the official site of Indian Visa. You need to upload your photo, passport page and other information.
  • Pay the fee online. You can do so by using a debit or credit card (The fee for Tourist Visa on Arrival is $60).
  • An ETA will be sent to your email. This document must be downloaded and printed. Keep this important document with yourself.
  • On your arrival in India, show your documents at the earlier mentioned 9 international airports in India and complete other formalities.

Update: eVisa extended to include 36 more countries

Latest Update: Government Approves new tourist visa policy to boost medical tourism and trade

Bhavna is a travel writer and travel photographer obsessed with different places around the world; a rather slow traveler who prefers to be solivagant to maintain inner peace. She loves to read travel articles which flows with beautiful rhythms and still well defines author’s experiences and the essence of the places.

You may also like...

Places to Visit in India by Month

7 Responses

  1. John Fleming says:

    Hi on the 16th June 2015 the UK plus other countries were allowed to apply for a etourist visa can you tell me when they will be added to the list of nationalities so that we can apply for the online visa at present when you go into an application the UK does not or should I say have not been added to the nationality list so we cannot proceed

  2. Tereza Lopes says:

    Informative post with beautifully described. Indians can avail the privilege while travelling.

  3. Bhavna Bura says:

    Hi Nigel!
    This is the first phase of the scheme, perhaps more countries will be added soon enough.

  4. Nigel says:

    Surprised it’s not available for Uk citizens.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seven − 4 =